October 20, 2009 at 6:36 pm Leave a comment

meatball

I am a 73 year old woman and an early (1960’s) convert to feminism. Yet I found that a giant meatball could cause me to question how I looked at what is expected of women.
My family was eating dinner at the Whole Foods Restaurant.  While enjoying my meal, I watched the chef create meals for a man and woman seated at the dinner bar with us.  “Whoa,” I thought, “she’s certainly going to eat sensibly.  She’s ordered the same vegetarian meal as my daughter-in-law.  But, just like a man, he’s into big portions and heavy food.  Look at that huge meatball on top of a very large portion of pasta.”
Was I wrong. The vegetarian dish was set before the man and, with a smile on her face, the woman accepted that giant meatball and pasta plate.
So, a meatball was significant.  It made me realize that prejudices learned early in life, don’t just evaporate, even those as minor as who gets the big meatball. We really have to work hard to see beyond preconceived ideas, to delay judgment and to accept that there is no “one size fits all.”

Entry filed under: stories, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


archive

recent comments

Anonymous on
A Nurse on

